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Executive 
Summary  

 
Executive Summary                                                     
DUI in Utah FY 2011 

DUI-Related Fatalities Decreased in CY 2010 
◘ DUI-related fatalities in Utah decreased from 31 in CY 2009 to 25 in CY 2010. 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 13,816 DUI arrests in FY 2011.  This was 1,469 fewer than in the 

previous year, a decrease of nearly 10 percent.  

◘ The majority of the arrests, almost 84 percent, were for violation of the .08 
blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) per se statute. 

◘ Refusals to submit to a chemical test at the time of arrest decreased 22 percent. 

◘ Not a Drop violations by persons under the legal drinking age of 21 decreased 
by 15 percent. 

◘ Arrests included 1,020 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement 
events that involved 96 law enforcement agencies throughout the state.  

◘ Slightly over half of all DUI arrests were made by municipal law enforcement 
agencies. 

◘ Seventy-three percent of DUI drivers were male, but the proportion of female 
DUI drivers continued to increase. 
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◘ Nine percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.   

◘ According to 2010 Census data, Utahns ages 21-36 made up 37 percent of the 
state’s adult population, yet they were responsible for 57 percent of all DUI 
arrests. 

◘ The average BAC was .14, with the highest at .45, over five times the legal limit! 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 72 percent of the total. 

◘ Sixty-eight percent of arrests were for a first DUI offense, 21 percent were for a 
second offense, nearly seven percent were for a third offense, and almost four 
percent were for a fourth or subsequent offense.  

◘ From CY 2009 to CY 2010, the percentage of total crash fatalities that were DUI-
related decreased from 12.7 percent to 9.9 percent, and the DUI-related fatality 
rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled decreased from 0.12 in to 0.09. 

Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ In FY 2011, there were 10,077 DUI cases in Utah’s Justice Courts.  Among the 

cases resolved, 53 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  

◘ Justice Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
2,487 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 1,965 cases, 
and ordered ignition interlock devices in 1,036 cases. 

◘ There were 2,115 DUI cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.  Among the 
cases resolved, 75 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 

◘ District Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
337 cases, ordered offenders into substance abuse treatment in 674 cases, and 
ordered ignition interlock devices in 295 cases. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 5,686 hearings in FY 2011 to determine 

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the 
individual’s driver license. 
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Introduction 

1 According to the Utah Highway Safety 
Office, an alcohol-impaired driver crash 

occurs in Utah every four hours. 

Introduction 
ose Guevara, 50, and his wife were driving near 3550 West and 2100 South in West 
Valley City at about 5:00 p.m. on October 26, 2010.  A Chevy van driven by Rosalina 
Tivao crossed the center lane and crashed head on into their Suzuki Forenza.  Jose died 

at the scene; the crash left Guadalupe Guevara in critical condition with leg and chest injuries.   
 J

Rosalina Tivao, 42, had a history of driving under the 
influence.  In 2006, she was convicted of DUI in 
California.  On July 2, 2010, she was stopped by the 
Utah Highway Patrol in South Salt Lake and arrested for 
DUI.  Her blood alcohol level was .20 at the time, and at 
a subsequent driver license hearing her license was 
revoked until 2013 for refusing to submit to a chemical 
test.  Officers who responded to the crash scene on 
October 26, 2010 could smell a strong odor of alcohol 
and Tivao had slurred speech.  In Tivao’s van, officers 
located a carton of Bud Dry containing three empty cans 
and another 12-pack of Bud Dry containing 10 full cans 
of beer.  On the floor next to the right front door, they 
found a half full can of Bud Dry beer.  Tivao’s blood 
alcohol level was .31, nearly four times the legal limit! 

As a result of the October 26, 2010 incident, Rosalina Tivao was charged with automobile 
homicide, a second degree felony; driving under the influence of alcohol, a third degree felony; 
driving on a suspended or revoked operator’s license, a class B misdemeanor; alcohol restricted 
driver, a class B misdemeanor; open container in vehicle, a class C misdemeanor; and failure to 
operate a vehicle on the right side of the roadway, a class C misdemeanor.  She pled guilty to 
automobile homicide and DUI.  On May 13, 2011, the judge ordered the two counts to run 
consecutively, and Rosalina Tivao was sentenced to prison for up to 16 years.   

Despite the declining and relatively lower rates of DUI and DUI-related fatalities in Utah when 
compared to national figures, driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs continues 
to be a threat to the citizens of our state.   DUI is a senseless and completely preventable violent 
crime that injures and kills far too many Utahns every year.   

Information for this story was obtained from the probable cause statement provided by the Salt Lake County District 
Attorney’s Office, articles in the Salt Lake Tribune, and on the connect2utah.com and abc4.com websites.

3 
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Purpose of the Report 
The Ninth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); and 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: 

o law enforcement; 

o adjudication; 

o sanctions; 

o driver license control; and 

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 
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2011 DUI and Related Legislation 

The following bills and one appropriation were passed                                                                
by the Utah Legislature in the 2011 General Session:  

S.B. 28 Alcohol or Drug Related Offense Amendments   
Senator Scott K. Jenkins 

     

This bill modifies provisions relating to the driver license suspension 
period and other sentencing requirements for certain alcohol or drug 
related offenses. 
 
Amends the administrative suspension periods for certain alcohol 
related offenses. 
 
Amends the driver license suspension period for a person convicted 
of certain alcohol or drug related offenses. 
 
Provides that a court may shorten a person’s driver license 
suspension period for certain alcohol or drug related offenses prior to 
the completion of the suspension period if the person completes 
certain requirements. 
 

  
S.B. 77 Ignition Interlock System Amendments 

Senator John L. Valentine 
     

This bill modifies the Motor Vehicles Code and the Public Safety 
Code by amending provisions relating to ignition interlock systems. 
 
Requires an ignition interlock system provider or an ignition interlock 
system installer to be licensed by the Driver License Division. 
 
Requires the Driver License Division to issue licenses for ignition 
interlock system providers and installers and specifies procedures 
and requirements for issuing the licenses. 
 
Grants the Driver License Division rulemaking authority to establish 
procedures for the implementation of the ignition interlock system 
provider and installer licensure program. 
 
Requires an ignition interlock system provider who installs an ignition 
interlock system on a person’s vehicle to:  provide proof of installation 
to the person, electronically notify the division of installation of an 

 5 
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ignition interlock system on the person’s vehicle, and electronically 
notify the division if a person has removed an ignition interlock system 
from the person’s vehicle. 
 
Requires the Driver License Division to suspend the license of any 
person who is an ignition interlock driver upon notice to the person for 
the duration of the person’s ignition interlock restriction period until the 
division:  receives electronic notification from an ignition interlock 
system provider showing new proof of the installation of an ignition 
interlock system, or electronically verifies that the person does not 
have a vehicle registered in the person’s name. 
 
Requires the Driver License Division to suspend the license of any 
person without hearing and without receiving a record of the person’s 
conviction of crime seven days after receiving electronic notification 
from a provider that a person has removed an ignition interlock 
system from the person’s vehicle if the person is an interlock 
restricted driver until the division:  receives electronic notification from 
an ignition interlock system provider showing new proof of the 
installation of an ignition interlock system, or electronically verifies that 
the person does not have a vehicle registered in the person’s name. 
 
Grants the Driver License Division authority to make administrative 
rules regarding the administration of the ignition interlock system 
program and certification and regulation of ignition interlock system 
providers. 
 
 

S.B. 114  Municipal Prosecutorial Discretion 
Senator Daniel W. Thatcher 

     

This bill modifies the Municipal Code relating to the duties of a city 
attorney. 
 
Permits a city attorney who has a conflict of interest in a prosecution 
matter to appoint a city attorney from another municipality or a public 
prosecutor to prosecute in the court having jurisdiction over the 
matter. 
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H.B. 20 Accident Responsibility Amendments 
Representative Christopher N. Herrod 

     

This bill modifies the Motor Vehicles Code by amending provisions 
relating to accident responsibilities.  
 
Clarifies that an operator of a vehicle who has reason to believe that 
the operator has been involved in an accident shall stop the vehicle at 
the scene of the accident and fulfill certain requirements. 
 
Provides that if an operator of a vehicle has reason to believe that the 
operator has been involved in a motor vehicle accident only after 
leaving the scene of the accident, the operator shall immediately 
comply as nearly as possible with certain requirements. 
 
Clarifies that a person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if the person 
does not comply with the accident responsibility requirements and the 
accident resulted in injury to any person. 
 
Clarifies that a person is guilty of a felony if the person does not 
comply with certain accident responsibility requirements and the 
accident resulted in serious bodily injury to a person or the death of a 
person.  

 
     

H.B. 23 Controlled Substance Modifications 
Representative Gage H. Froerer 

     

This bill modifies provisions relating to the Utah Controlled 
Substances Act by creating a controlled class of listed synthetic 
cannabinoid substances found in products often referred to as “spice”, 
and a list of substances found in products referred to as “bath salts”. 
 
Expands the definition of a controlled substance to include a list of 
synthetic equivalent cannabinoid substances and their analogs and 
homologs found in products commonly referred to as “spice”. 
 
Expands the definition of a controlled substance to include 
substances and their analogs and homologs found in products 
referred to as “bath salts”. 
 
Clarifies that the tetrahydrocannabinols in Schedule I of the Utah 
Controlled Substances Act include those both naturally and 
synthetically derived. 
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Provides that it is an affirmative defense that the person produced, 
possessed, or administered any of these listed substances if the 
person was engaged in medical research and was a holder of a 
license to possess controlled substances for research. 
 
Authorizes the Controlled Substances Advisory Committee to 
recommend placement of a substance on a controlled substance list if 
it finds that the substance has a potential for abuse and that an 
accepted standard has not been established for safe use in treatment 
for medical purposes. 
 
Adds “spice” and “bath salts” to the driver license provisions regarding 
driving under the influence. 
 
Provides that a legislative body of a political subdivision may not 
enact an ordinance that is less restrictive than any provision of the 
Utah Controlled Substances Act. 
 
 

H.B. 45  Vehicle Impound Amendments 
Representative Jeremy A. Peterson 

     

This bill modifies the Motor Vehicle Act by amending provisions 
relating to circumstances where a peace officer is permitted to seize a 
vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor. 

Provides that a peace officer, without a warrant, may seize and take 
possession of any vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor:  that the 
division or the peace officer has reason to believe has been involved 
in an accident involving property damage, injury, or death; and whose 
operator did not remain at the scene of the accident until the operator 
fulfilled certain requirements. 

 

Appropriation 
Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account  
The 2011 Legislature appropriated $5,308,900 to the Alcoholic 
Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32B-2-
401) for FY 2012.  Funding from this account is distributed on a 
formula basis to Utah’s municipalities and counties to be used for one 
or more of the following purposes:  (1) DUI law enforcement,            
(2) general alcohol-related law enforcement, (3) prosecution/court 
costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of alcohol problems,   
(5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.     

 8 
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FY 2011 USAAV DUI Committee 

The Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council’s DUI Committee members represent 
state and local agencies and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah.  With the 
support and action of the Utah Legislature and other key leaders and policymakers, 
during FY 2011 the Committee continued its work to strengthen Utah’s ability to more 
effectively address the DUI problem.  

Anna Kay Waddoups 
Citizen Member and Chair 

Senator Stuart Adams Senator 
Utah State Senate 

David Beach Director, Highway Safety Office 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Edward Berkovich 
 

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor 
Utah Prosecution Council 

Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director of the 
Driver License Division, Utah Department of Public Safety 

Paul Boyden 
Vice Chair 

Executive Director 
Statewide Association of Prosecutors 

Neil Cohen Compliance Officer 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Patty Fox Post-Trial Services Program Manager 
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services 

Colonel Daniel Fuhr Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Kim Gibb Chief, Administrative Programs Bureau, Driver  
License Division, Utah Department of Public Safety 

Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 
Utah Chiefs of Police Association 

Gail Johnson Education Specialist for Driver Education 
Utah State Office of Education 

Teri Pectol Impaired Driving/Youth Alcohol Program Manager, 
Highway Safety Office, Utah Department of Public Safety  

Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 
Administrative Office of the Courts 

Sheriff Kirk Smith Washington County Sheriff’s Office 
Utah Sheriffs Association 

Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health  

Mary Lou Emerson                                                                                    Monica Taylor
Director, USAAV Council                                 Administrative Assistant, USAAV/CCJJ
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 2011, law enforcement 
officers made 13,816 DUI arrests.  This was 1,469 fewer than in FY 2010, representing 
a decrease of nearly 10 percent.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Violation Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 2011 was very similar to previous years.  The majority of the arrests, nearly 84 
percent, were for violations of the per se alcohol law, for driving at or above the legal 
blood/breath alcohol concentration level of .08.  Under Utah law, drivers are considered 
to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids to determine whether 
they are driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.  Just under 10 percent of 
arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical test.  It is also illegal to drive with any 
measurable controlled substance metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for about 
one percent of arrests.  Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age 
of 21 who drove with any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for 
five percent of the arrests.  The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers exceeding 
the .04 limit, which represented only 0.1 percent of the total.   Of particular note are the 
numbers of arrests for test refusals and Not a Drop violations in FY 2011.  Refusals 
decreased 22 percent from the previous year, and Not a Drop arrests decreased 15 
percent.         

FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 DUI Arrests by 
Violation Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Percent 
Change 

FY 10–FY 11 

Per se Alcohol (.08) 12,705 81.0% 12,559 82.2% 11,586 83.9% -7.9%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,872 11.9% 1,704 11.1% 1,324 9.6% -22.3%
Not a Drop (< 21) 877 5.6% 834 5.5% 706 5.1% -15.3%
Drug Metabolite 205 1.3% 174 1.1% 185 1.3% +6.3%
Commercial Driver (.04) 24 0.2% 14 0.1% 15 0.1% +7.1%
TOTAL 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0% -9.6%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 

2 
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
The arrests made in FY 2011 included those that occurred as a result of specialized 
DUI overtime enforcement events targeted at removing drivers under the influence of 
alcohol and/or other drugs from Utah’s roads.  A portion of the DUI impound fees 
collected was specifically designated to fund the overtime shifts.  During FY 2011,       
96 law enforcement agencies throughout the state participated in overtime events, 
including local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, Motor Vehicle 
Enforcement, Utah Parks & Recreation, and two university police departments.   

The table below shows the measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement 
events in FY 2011.  Of the total 1,020 DUI arrests, 769 were for alcohol, 168 were for 
other drugs, and 83 were for metabolite.    

Statewide DUI Overtime 
Enforcement Events FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 Percent Change 

FY 10 – FY 11 
DUI Shifts Worked 2,180 2,235 2,183 -2.3% 
Vehicles Stopped 19,233 22,340 21,352 -4.4% 
DUI Arrests 1,232 1,053 1,020 -3.1% 
Vehicles Impounded 1,173 961 929 -3.3% 
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 742 616 640 +3.9% 
Drug-Related Arrests** 440 461 509 +10.4% 
Warrants Served 544 427 465 +8.9% 
Other Warnings/Citations 17,199 17,883 17,547 -1.9% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,   
Not a Drop) 
**Felony and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)    

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
Over half of all arrests in FY 2011 were made by municipal law enforcement 
agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 35 percent of arrests, and 
county sheriffs’ offices responsible for nearly 13 percent of DUI arrests. 

FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Sheriffs’ Offices 2,576 16.4% 2,143 14.0% 1,787 12.9%
City Police/Other 8,733 55.7% 7,617 49.8% 7,140 51.7%
Highway Patrol 4,374 27.9% 5,525 36.1% 4,889 35.4%
TOTAL 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained fairly consistent over the past three years, although the 
proportion of females arrested for DUI appears to be increasing.  In FY 2011, 73 
percent of arrestees were male and 26 percent were female.  From FY 2003 to FY 
2011, the proportion of females arrested for DUI has increased eight percent.  
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FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011  
DUI Arrests by Gender Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Male 11,972 76.3% 11,402 74.6% 10,109 73.2%
Female 3,653 23.3% 3,815 25.0% 3,663 26.5%
Unspecified 58 0.4% 68 0.4% 44 0.3%
TOTAL 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI driver in FY 2011 was 14 years old, and the oldest was in his 
early eighties.  Nine percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21.     

According to 2010 Census data, Utahns ages 21-36 made up 37 percent of the 
state’s adult population, yet they were responsible for 57 percent of all DUI arrests.    

FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011  
DUI Arrests by Age Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Unknown 1 < 0.1% 1 < 0.1% 1 < 0.1%
14-20 1,556 9.9% 1,457 9.5% 1,303 9.4%
21-24 2,894 18.5% 2,853 18.7% 2,458 17.8%
25-36 6,087 38.8% 5,922 38.7% 5,411 39.2%
37-48 3,255 20.8% 3,049 19.9% 2,737 19.8%
49-84 1,890 12.1% 2,003 13.1% 1,906 13.8%
TOTAL 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 
The average BAC remained at .14 during FY 2011, with the highest BAC recorded at 
.45, over five times the legal limit. 

FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 DUI Arrests by BAC 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Results Not Reported 3,712 23.7% 4,153 27.2% 3,994 28.9%
.01 - .07  1,064 6.8% 898 5.9% 813 5.9%
.08 - .10 1,600 10.2% 1,635 10.7% 1,402 10.1%
.11 - .15 3,100 19.8% 2,923 19.1% 2,528 18.3%
.16 - .20 2,240 14.3% 1,967 12.9% 1,833 13.3%
.21 - .25 931 5.9% 806 5.3% 807 5.8%
.26 - .45  363 2.3% 317 2.1% 314 2.3%

Refused BAC Test 1,875 12.0% 1,698 11.1% 1,345 9.7%
No Test/Unknown 519 3.3% 597 3.9% 495 3.6%

Drug Only 279 1.8% 291 1.9% 285 2.1%
TOTAL 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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According to a recent report published the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC), to reach a BAC of .14, a 160-pound man would need to consume between five 
and seven beers within one hour (see table below).1 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
DUI Arrests by Month 
As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2011, with 
an average arrest rate of 1,151 per month.  The highest number of arrests occurred in 
July (1,359), with the lowest number of arrests in November (965). 

FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011  
DUI Arrests by Month Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
July 1,230 7.8% 1,239 8.1% 1,359 9.8%
August 1,539 9.8% 1,318 8.6% 1,264 9.2%
September 1,469 9.4% 1,380 9.0% 1,152 8.3%
October 1,263 8.1% 1,264 8.3% 1,303 9.4%
November 1,395 8.9% 1,272 8.3% 965 7.0%
December 1,207 7.7% 1,178 7.7% 1,094 7.9%
January 1,361 8.7% 1,251 8.2% 1,202 8.7%
February 1,220 7.8% 1,214 7.9% 1,061 7.7%
March 1,286 8.2% 1,396 9.1% 1,178 8.5%
April 1,201 7.7% 1,171 7.7% 1,095 7.9%
May 1,397 8.9% 1,391 9.1% 1,128 8.2%
June 1,115 7.1% 1,211 7.9% 1,015 7.4%
TOTAL 15,683 100.0% 15,285 100.0% 13,816 100.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

                                                                          

1 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving:  A Threat to Everyone, October 
2011.   
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DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2011 occurred along 
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 
nearly 72 percent (9,904) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of 
arrests with 5,871 (42%), while Rich County had the fewest arrests with four (< 0.1%).  
The table below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both 
total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.   

DUI Arrests 
FY 2011 

2010 Census 
Population 

Vehicle Miles Traveled 
Calendar Year 2010 County 

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 65 0.47% 6,629 0.24% 253,940,901 0.95%
Box Elder 165 1.19% 49,975 1.81% 923,263,939 3.47%
Cache 466 3.37% 112,656 4.08% 865,905,682 3.25%
Carbon 180 1.30% 21,403 0.77% 300,889,642 1.13%
Daggett 17 0.12% 1,059 0.04% 31,456,196 0.12%
Davis 1,374 9.94% 306,479 11.09% 2,688,514,623 10.10%
Duchesne 140 1.01% 18,607 0.67% 232,377,158 0.87%
Emery 110 0.80% 10,976 0.40% 323,007,637 1.21%
Garfield 23 0.17% 5,172 0.19% 113,360,324 0.43%
Grand 90 0.65% 9,225 0.33% 315,282,229 1.18%
Iron 255 1.85% 46,163 1.67% 716,873,399 2.69%
Juab 114 0.83% 10,246 0.37% 390,348,951 1.47%
Kane 92 0.67% 7,125 0.26% 144,600,580 0.54%
Millard 84 0.61% 12,503 0.45% 469,010,846 1.76%
Morgan 43 0.31% 9,469 0.34% 133,795,040 0.50%
Piute 5 0.04% 1,556 0.06% 29,907,114 0.11%
Rich 4 0.03% 2,264 0.08% 47,672,968 0.18%
Salt Lake 5,871 42.49% 1,029,655 37.25% 8,649,123,758 32.49%
San Juan 86 0.62% 14,746 0.53% 326,338,599 1.23%
Sanpete 63 0.46% 27,822 1.01% 218,355,221 0.82%
Sevier 179 1.30% 20,802 0.75% 329,028,823 1.24%
Summit 297 2.15% 36,324 1.31% 719,531,820 2.70%
Tooele 420 3.04% 58,218 2.11% 841,233,868 3.16%
Uintah 363 2.63% 32,588 1.18% 374,321,667 1.41%
Utah 1,597 11.56% 516,564 18.69% 3,790,832,805 14.24%
Wasatch 114 0.83% 23,530 0.85% 323,793,896 1.22%
Washington 525 3.80% 138,115 5.00% 1,374,118,511 5.16%
Wayne 12 0.09% 2,778 0.10% 42,091,207 0.16%
Weber 1,062 7.69% 231,236 8.37% 1,648,192,305 6.19%
TOTAL 13,816 100.0% 2,763,885 100.0% 26,617,169,711 100.0%
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  U.S. Census Bureau 
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled:  Utah Department of Transportation 
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Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest.  Data 
were calculated by selecting offenders arrested in FY 2011 as a starting point, then 
counting back ten years to determine previous arrests.  Each offender was placed 
in a column determined by the type of the most recent arrest.  Sixty-eight percent of 
arrests were for a first offense, 21 percent were for a second offense, nearly seven 
percent were for a third offense, and almost four percent were for a fourth or 
subsequent offense.  The total number of arrests reflected in this table is fewer than 
the total arrests for FY 2011 because each offender was counted only once, while 
the offender may have been arrested more than one time during the fiscal year.      
 
FY 2011 

Arrest 
Type 

TOTAL 

Offense 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08)/ 
Drug 

Refusal 
of 

Chemical 
Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(< 21)

Drug 
Metabolite

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) 

Number Percent 

1st 7,591 732 318 153 6 8,800 68.03%
2nd 2,129 301 319 17 8 2,774 21.44%
3rd 695 142 27 5  1 870 6.72%
4th 267 53 7 1 0 328 2.54%
5th 93 19 2 0 0 114 0.88%
6th 24 6 1 0 0 31 0.24%
7th 10 2 0 0 0 12 0.09%
8th 4 1 0 0 0 5 0.04%
9th 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.01%

10th- 14th 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.01%
TOTAL 10,815 1,256 674 176 15 12,936 100.00%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI-related crash fatalities from 
2001 to 2010. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

            Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
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The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes for each 
calendar year from 2001 to 2010, including the number of persons injured and the number 
of persons killed as a result of the crashes.  The number of DUI-related fatalities in Utah 
decreased from 31 in CY 2009 to 25 in CY 2010.  

DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, 2001-2010 
Injuries Fatalities Calendar 

Year 
Total 

DUI-Related 
Crashes* 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI-Related 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI- 

Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities** 

Percent 
DUI-

Related 
2001 2,122 29,375 1,764 6.0% 291 42 14.4%
2002 2,088 30,433 1,685 5.5% 328 53 16.2%
2003 1,952 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 29   9.4%
2004 1,948 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 56 18.9%
2005 1,977 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 22   7.8%
2006 2,488 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6%
2007 2,718 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0%
2008 2,330 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3%
2009 2,019 22,847 1,288 5.6% 244 31 12.7%
2010 Not Available Not Available 252 25 9.9%

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.   
**DUI-related fatalities include only drivers with a BAC of ≥ .08. 
 

 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and 
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, from 2001 to 2010. 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and           
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, 2001-2010 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
10,000 Population 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled

Calendar 
Year DUI-

Related 
Fatalities* Population Rate Vehicle Miles 

Traveled Rate 

2001 42 2,305,652 0.18 23,382,719,060 0.18 
2002 53 2,358,330 0.22 24,422,264,975 0.22 
2003 29 2,413,618 0.12 23,946,840,430 0.12 
2004 56 2,469,230 0.23 24,624,791,795 0.23 
2005 22 2,547,389 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09 
2006 39 2,615,129 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15 
2007 42 2,699,554 0.16 26,824,244,333 0.16 
2008 34 2,757,779 0.12 25,883,467,343 0.13 
2009 31 2,800,089 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12 
2010 25 2,763,885 0.09 26,617,169,711 0.09 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of ≥ .08. 
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The figure below illustrates the rate of DUI-related fatalities in Utah from 2001 to 
2010, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.  From CY 2009 to CY 2010, the DUI-
related fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled decreased from 0.12 to 0.09. 

Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled  
of DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, 2001-2010 
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Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes 
The Utah Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2009 the highest percentage 
of alcohol-impaired driver total crashes occurred on Saturday (22%).  Monday (21%) 
and Saturday (21%) had the highest totals of fatal crashes.  Alcohol-impaired driver 
total crashes peaked in the evening and early morning hours, between 6:00 p.m. and 
2:59 a.m.  Fatal alcohol-impaired driver crashes varied by hour and peaked at midnight 
and 8:00 p.m. 

 

 

 
According to the Utah Highway Safety 

Office, an alcohol-impaired driver crash 
occurs in Utah every four hours. 
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Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  For FY 2011, the 
Legislature appropriated $5,597,200 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage 
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32B-2-401) to municipalities and 
counties statewide on a formula basis.2  Funds may be spent in one or more of six 
general categories:  (1) DUI law enforcement, (2) general alcohol-related law 
enforcement, (3) prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases, (4) treatment of 
alcohol problems, (5) alcohol-related education/prevention, and (6) confinement of 
alcohol law offenders.  Municipalities and counties receiving $1,000 or more are 
required to submit an Annual Report to the Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council by 
October 1st of each year, outlining how funds were utilized, whether the programs or 
projects funded were effective, and certifying the funds were used in accordance with 
the law.  In accordance with the statute, those that do not submit their reports forfeit 
their funds for the current fiscal year and the funds are allocated to other entities. 

The following table shows how FY 2011 funds were utilized, as reported in the Alcohol 
Funds Annual Reports received to date. 

 
FY 2011 Alcohol Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used 
As of October 12, 2011 

Number of 
Municipalities 
and Counties 

(N = 138) 

 
 

Percent3

DUI Law Enforcement 80 58.0%
General Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 89 64.5%
Prosecution/Court Costs for Alcohol-Related Cases 35 25.4%
Treatment of Alcohol Problems 10 7.2%
Alcohol-Related Education/Prevention 67 48.5%
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 15 10.9%
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council, FY 2011 Alcohol Funds Annual Reports 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                                          

2 In accordance with §32B-2-404 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes funds to municipalities and 
counties in December of each year based upon the following formula:  percentage of state population (25%); 
percentage of statewide convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); percentage of all state stores, 
package agencies, liquor licensees, and beer licensees (20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes 
(for alcohol-related offenses) based upon the percentage of the state population (25% to counties only). 

3 Recipients may use alcohol funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 
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Adjudications 
& Sanctions 

3 
Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  Most misdemeanor DUI cases are 
handled in Utah’s Justice Courts, which are sponsored by municipalities and counties.  
Felony cases, as well as cases not referred to the Justice Courts, are handled in the 
state’s District Courts.     

Justice Court DUI Data 
Justice Court DUI Charges and Outcomes 
The following table details the 10,077 DUI cases in the Justice Courts during FY 2011.  
There were 1,328 fewer cases than in the previous year, a decrease of nearly 12 
percent.  Fifty-three percent of cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, with 18 percent 
not guilty or dismissed.  This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate, 
however, as it includes cases filed in FY 2010 that were not resolved until FY 2011.  In 
addition, 2,884 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2011. 

FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 Justice Court DUI 
Case Outcomes Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

% Change  
FY 10 – FY 11 

Guilty 7,121 59.3% 6,371 55.9% 5,367 53.3% -15.8% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 2,384 19.9% 2,322 20.3% 1,826 18.1% -21.4% 
Cases Pending 2,497 20.8% 2,712 23.8% 2,884 28.6% +6.3% 
Total DUI Cases 12,002 100.0% 11,405 100.0% 10,077 100.0% -11.6% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions 
The Justice Courts also track other DUI-related case information.  The table on the 
following page includes data for those Justice Courts reporting to the Department of 
Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Identification.  The numbers reflect only those 
dispositions loaded into the Criminal History Repository, and do not include those in the 
suspense file.  The data indicate judges ordered offenders to participate in an 
educational series in 2,487 cases, substance abuse treatment in 1,965 cases, and that 
ignition interlock devices were ordered in 1,036 cases. 
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Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 113 119 116
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 2,708 3,382 4,019
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 1,953 2,414 2,824
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 1,291 1,585 1,965
Educational Series Ordered 1,782 2,155 2,487
Ignition Interlock Ordered 853 915 1,036
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 2,312 3,082 3,788
Electronic Monitoring 131 121 147
Enhancement Notification 2,184 2,400 2,690
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification 

   
District Court DUI Data 
As shown in the table below, Utah’s District Courts disposed 2,115 DUI cases during 
FY 2011, 19 more than in FY 2010.   

   
DUI in Utah’s District Courts 

 
FY 2009 

 
FY 2010 

 
FY 2011 

% Change  
FY 10 – FY 11

District Court Cases Disposed 2,266 2,096 2,115 +0.9% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,115 DUI cases 
disposed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2011.  Seventy-five percent of the 
cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, and the defendant was found not guilty in only 
four cases.  Sixteen percent of the cases were dismissed.  It should be noted that this 
table is not a depiction of the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it includes 
only those cases that were disposed during FY 2011.  Pending cases were not included 
in the data analysis. 

FY 2011 District Court DUI Case Outcomes by Judicial District 
Judicial District DUI Case 

Outcomes 1st  2nd  3rd  4th  5th  6th  7th  8th  
 
Total Percent

Deceased 0 1 2 4 0 0 2 0 9 0.4%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0%
Dismissed 38 86 112 55 17 19 14 8 349 16.5%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0%
Guilty 132 288 528 337 112 55 54 86 1,592 75.3%
No Contest 0 4 3 19 3 3 2 1 35 1.7%
Not Guilty 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 1 4 0.2%
Plea in Abeyance 2 1 4 6 1 4 3 1 22 1.0%
Remanded 0 4 41 6 7 0 0 0 58 2.7%
Transferred 0 2 9 34 0 0 0 1 46 2.2%
TOTAL 172 386 702 461 140 81 75 98 2,115 100.0%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data 
The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the table 
below, which includes data for Fiscal Year 2009 through Fiscal Year 2011, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.  In FY 2011 for 
example, 28 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, while 24 
percent were actually third-time offenders, and 22 percent were sentenced as third-time 
offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.  An 
offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2009-20114
 

Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As Offense 

FY 09 FY 10 FY 11 FY 09 FY 10 FY 11 FY 09 FY 10 FY 11 
1st Offense 53% 53% 51% 53% 50% 47% 54% 56% 53%
2nd Offense 18% 17% 15% 23% 21% 19% 20% 19% 18%
3rd Offense 26% 27% 28% 17% 22% 24% 22% 23% 22%
4th Offense 2% 1% 4% 3% 4% 6% 2% 1% 3%

5th-10th 
Offense 1% 1% 2% 4% 3% 4% 2% 1% 3%

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions 
The District Courts also track other DUI-related case information, including sanctions 
ordered.  The table below includes the FY 2011 data for those cases where the values 
were known.  The table shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational 
series in 337 cases, ordered substance abuse treatment in 674 cases, and that ignition 
interlock devices were ordered in 295 cases.  

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 

Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 590 560 451 
Substance Abuse Screening and Assessment Ordered 693 686 691 
Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered 698 648 674 
Educational Series Ordered 459 419 337 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 312 293 295 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 851 786 792 
Electronic Monitoring 128 122 119 
Enhancement Notification 100% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

                                                                          

4 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known; in FY 2009, FY 
2010 and FY 2011, the number was unknown in a large number of cases.  In addition, the following cases were 
not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and transferred. 
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Driver License 
Control 

4 
Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or 
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance metabolite in the body 
• Not a Drop violation 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license 
• Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
• Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 5,686 requested alcohol hearings held in FY 
2011.  The Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting officer 
does not appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division offers a 
telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  In 2,859 
cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing.   

FY 2011 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
ACD Code Total # of 

Hearings 
No 

Officer 
No Officer 
Telephonic

Other  
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Total 
Telephonic

Per Se 5,039 772 138 762 1,672 2,515 
Not a Drop 139 28 3 26 57 106 
Refusal 508 86 10 34 130 238 
TOTAL 5,686 886 151 822 1,859 2,859 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Screening, Assessment, 
Education and Treatment 

Screening and Assessment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol and/or other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth 
clinical assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed 
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other drug abuse, emotional 
and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  
The assessment is used to determine the need for substance abuse treatment.5   
The following table shows the orders for substance abuse screening and 
assessment by the Justice and District Courts in FY 2011, for those cases where 
the values were known.  

Substance Abuse Screening and 
Assessment Ordered by the Courts FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011

Justice Courts 1,953 2,414 2,824 
District Courts 693 686 691 
Sources:  District Courts – Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts – Utah Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 

 
Education 
For a first DUI offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must 
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.  The 
                                                                          

5 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 

5 
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purpose of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be 
related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize 
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the 
dangers of drinking and driving.”6  Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational 
series attend the PRIME For Life program developed by the Prevention Research 
Institute (PRI).  “PRIME For Life provides education and strategies for individuals who 
have problems with alcohol or drug use.  PRIME For Life is an interactive experience 
designed to guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more 
accurate beliefs about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices.”7   The 
following table shows the orders for the educational series by the Justice and 
District Courts in FY 2011, for those cases where values were known. 

Educational Series Ordered By the Courts FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011
Justice Courts 1,782 2,155 2,487 
District Courts 459 419 337 
Sources:  District Courts – Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts – Utah Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 
 

PRI conducts periodic studies of PRIME For Life participants to measure the impact on 
changing beliefs about alcohol and other drug use, understanding the risks associated 
with alcohol/drug use, and desire to change personal drinking and drug use behaviors.  
In previous years this study was published annually, however, because the findings 
have been virtually identical from year to year, PRI now publishes the study less 
frequently.  The most recent study provides data on Utah offenders who participated in 
the PRIME For Life program during 2008 and 2009.  The findings of this study are 
included in the 2010 DUI Report to the Legislature, which can be found on the CCJJ 
website at http://justice.utah.gov.  
 

Treatment 
For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance abuse treatment.  
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change 
patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to 
restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning.  DUI 
offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder 
should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the educational 
course.”8   Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug problems.  The level 
of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive outpatient, residential) is 
determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of the substance abuse 
                                                                          

6 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

7 Beadnell, B., Nason, M., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2010, April).  PRIME For Life 2010 Evaluation 
Report Executive Summary:  Utah.  Lexington, KY:  Prevention Research Institute. 

8 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

http://justice.utah.gov/
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disorder.  The table below shows the orders for substance abuse treatment by the 
Justice and District Courts in FY 2011, for those cases where the values were 
known. 

Substance Abuse Treatment Ordered    
by the Courts FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011

Justice Court 1,291 1,585 1,965 
District Court 698 648 674 
Sources:  District Courts – Utah Administrative Office of the Courts; Justice Courts – Utah Department of Public Safety, 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 
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Impaired 
Driving Media 
Campaign 

6 
 

Utah’s Impaired Driving          
Media Campaign  
The Utah Department of Public Safety Highway Safety 
Office’s statewide media and outreach campaign continues 
to work to change the awareness and behavior of the 21-34 
year old demographic that is likely to drive after drinking 
alcohol. The campaign is funded by the National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and builds upon the 
national campaign. The multi-media campaign focuses on 
encouraging the use of designated drivers and making good 
choices such as calling a cab before going out to drink, 
putting the number in your cell phone, calling a sober friend, 
or staying where the activity is until the next day.  And, if you 
get caught in Utah, you will face serious consequences.  

  

Canyon critters reminded mountain 
revelers that keeping Utah canyons 

safe means not drinking and driving. 

  Billboards  

 
 
 
 
 
 
   

A MVPPP (Most 
Valuable Post-Party 

Person), a.k.a., 
designated driver, 

was needed at every 
Super Bowl party. 
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX 

(Effective July 1, 2011) 
 

MISDEMEANOR DUI  
Court-Ordered 
Sentencing 

 FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 
WITHIN 10 YEARS 

 

FELONY DUI 

 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 

THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
$ if third or subsequent offense 

within 10 years 
$ if serious bodily injury1 
$ if any prior felony DUI 

conviction or automobile 
homicide1 conviction 

 
Jail: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
   48 consecutive hours OR 
   48 hours compensatory 
   service OR 
   Electronic home confinement2

 

 
SHALL order: 
   240 consecutive hours OR 
   240 hours compensatory        
   service OR  
   Electronic home confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   0-5 year prison term OR 
   1,500 hours jail (62.5 days) 
MAY order: 
   Electronic home confinement2 

Fine: 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
   $700 minimum plus 
   surcharge 

 
SHALL order: 
   $800 minimum plus 
   surcharge 

 
SHALL order: 
   $1,500 minimum plus             
   surcharge, unless 0-5 prison  
   term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Educational 
Series, 
Treatment 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Intensive treatment or 

inpatient treatment and 
aftercare for not less than 
240 hours, unless 0-5 prison 
term is imposed 

Probation:3 
(§41-6a-507) 

MAY order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 

SHALL order supervised 
probation if 0-5 prison term is 
not imposed 

 

Ignition 
Interlock4 
(§41-6a-518) 
(§41-6a-530) 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 

violation OR describe on the 
record why such order not 
appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on 
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on   
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
High BAC: 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 if 0-5 

prison term is not imposed 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 

 

Court MAY order additional   
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or  2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 120 days, 180 days, one 
year or 2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional    
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or 2 years 

                                                           
1A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the 
 same episode of driving.  
2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
3Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body). 
4Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
 condition of probation. 
5Alcohol restricted driver 



 

The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a 
court order.  Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions. 
 

Statutory 
Provisions 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FIRST OFFENSE 
 

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS 

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation 
 

Driving Under 
the Influence/ 
DUI Conviction 
(§41-6a-509) 
 
 
 
 
 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st   
   birthday* 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday** 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months* 
or 2 years** if the person completes a screening; completes an 
assessment if appropriate; completes an education series or 
substance abuse treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has 
not been convicted of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the 
suspension period; has complied with all terms of probation or all 
court orders if not ordered to probation; and provides a sworn 
statement to the court that the person has not unlawfully consumed 
alcohol during the suspension period. 

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
  
 
  

 

Driving with 
Controlled 
Substance/ 
Metabolite in 
Body 
Conviction 
(§41-6a-517) 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st  
   birthday* 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday** 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not 
consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner 
during the suspension period. 
 

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of two years or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday   

 

Refusal of 
Chemical Test 
(§41-6a-521) 

If 21 or older:  18 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st 

   birthday 

If 21 or older:  36 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 36 months or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

P 

Per se Arrest 
(§53-3-223) 
≥ .08 BAC, impaired to degree 
unsafe to drive, operating with 
metabolite of drug in system 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  6 months 
 

If under 19:  2 years  

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 

If under 19:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st  
   birthday 

Not A Drop 
(§53-3-231) 
 

A person under 21 may not 
operate a vehicle or 
motorboat with detectable 
alcohol in body 

If 19-20:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, but 
not less than 6 months 
 

If under 19:  Until successful completion of  
substance abuse program recommendation, but 
not less than one year 

If 19-20:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, and 
the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, and 
the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 

Other Sanctions 
 

IRD – Interlock 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-518.2) 
 

An “interlock restricted 
driver” may not operate a 
motor vehicle without an 
ignition interlock system.  

• 18 months IRD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21 
• 3 years IRD for 1st Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), or 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21 
• 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years:  DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (§41-
6a-512 – only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled 
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide  (§76-5-207)  

• 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
 

Note:  Abeyances count as convictions, as defined in §41-6a-501; if all offenses are for Controlled Substance/Metabolite convictions, IRD does not apply 
 

 

ARD – Alcohol 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-529)  

An “alcohol restricted 
driver” may not operate or 
be in actual physical control 
of a vehicle with any 
measurable or detectable 
amount of alcohol in the 
person’s body. 

• 2 years ARD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223) 
• 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD 

(§41-6a-530) offense 
• 5 years ARD for 1st Refusal to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years ARD for 2nd offense, if 2nd offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations 

prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-521); 
and 1st offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
 

Note: Abeyances count as convictions as stated in §53-3-229, excluding ARD and IRD abeyances; if Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply 
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