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Executive Summary                                                                                                       
DUI in Utah FY 2013 

DUI-Related Fatalities in CY 2012 
◘ From CY 2011 to CY 2012, DUI/alcohol-related fatalities in Utah decreased from 

39 to 20, but DUI/drug-related fatalities increased from 30 to 37. 

Law Enforcement:  Arrests 
◘ There were 12,227 DUI arrests in FY 2013, 804 fewer than in the previous year. 

This represents a decrease of over six percent, and a decrease of over 11 
percent since FY 2011. 

◘ Almost 81 percent of the arrests were for per se violations that included driving 
under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both.   

◘ Not a Drop violations by persons under the legal drinking age of 21 decreased 
almost 8 percent, with a decrease of over 22 percent since FY 2011. 

◘ Arrests included 996 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement events 
such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI sobriety checkpoints 
that involved 104 law enforcement agencies throughout the state.  

◘ Fifty-three percent of all DUI arrests were made by municipal law 
enforcement agencies. 

◘ Nearly 72 percent of DUI drivers were male. 

◘ Almost 12 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21. 

Executive 
Summary  
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◘ The average BAC was .146; the highest was .42, over five times the legal limit. 

◘ The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber, 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 71 percent of the total. 

◘ About 69 percent of arrests were for a first DUI offense, 20 percent were for a 
second offense, seven percent were for a third offense, and four percent were 
for a fourth or subsequent offense.  

◘ From CY 2011 to CY 2012, the percentage of total crash fatalities that were 
DUI/alcohol-related decreased from 16.0 percent to 9.2 percent. 

◘ From CY 2011 to CY 2012, the percentage of total crash fatalities that were 
DUI/drug-related increased from 12.3 percent to 17.1 percent. 

Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
◘ In FY 2013, there were 9,023 DUI cases in Utah’s Justice Courts.  Among the 

cases resolved, almost 58 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  

◘ Justice Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
2,629 cases, ordered offenders into substance use disorder treatment in 2,144 
cases, and ordered ignition interlock devices in 767 cases. 

◘ In FY 2013, there were 2,305 DUI cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.  
Among the cases resolved, almost 76 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 

◘ District Court judges ordered offenders to participate in an educational series in 
308 cases, ordered offenders into substance use disorder treatment in 630 cases, 
and ordered ignition interlock devices in 275 cases. 

Driver License Control 
◘ The Driver License Division conducted 5,206 hearings in FY 2013 to determine 

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the 
individual’s driver license. 

Assessment, Education and Treatment 
◘ Eighty-one percent of participants who completed the PRIME for Life program, 

Utah’s court-ordered educational series for DUI offenders, reported they were 
highly motivated to reduce to or maintain their drinking at low-risk levels.   
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Introduction 
mbrosia Amalathithada-Ramseyer, a little girl with her whole life ahead of her, “was a ray of 
sunshine to all who knew her”.  On the afternoon of March 14, 2012, following a tutoring lesson 
with her teacher at Whittier Elementary School, the six-year-old was in a crosswalk with her 
mother near Kensington Avenue (1500 South) and State Street in Salt Lake City, when the two 

were struck by a driver who did not yield.  While 46-year-old Janeen Lundberg said she saw Ambrosia 
and her mother Natalie three to four car lengths away, witnesses and the physical evidence indicated she 
hit the two after swerving around cars stopped to allow the two to cross, hit the median, and continued into 
the crosswalk without applying her brakes. 

Natalie Amalathithada-Randell suffered broken legs, a broken pelvis, a                                                    
skull fracture and brain injury.  Little Ambrosia suffered blunt force trauma                                                     
to her head and passed away the following day after being taken off  life                                             
support at Primary Children’s Medical Center. 

Toxicology reports showed Janeen Lundberg was under the influence of                                                         
a combination of multiple prescription and non-prescription (over-the-                                                  
counter) central nervous system (CNS) depressants at the time she struck                                         
Ambrosia and her mother in the crosswalk.  The drugs in her system                                                     
included those categorized as pain relievers, muscle relaxants,                                              
antidepressants, and antihistamines.  Side effects of such drugs include                                                  
CNS depression, sedation, drowsiness, dizziness, and impaired reflexes.                                          
According to the testimony of one expert witness, “Ms. Lundberg was                                                       
presented with a simple traffic pattern that should have been easily and                                                      
safely managed; she did not appreciate that the vehicles in front of her                                                     
were stopped at the crosswalk, nor did she recognize the potential for pedestrians in the crosswalk despite 
several signals to that effect; she did not perceive and react to the traffic until just prior to impact and when 
she did react, she over responded and over corrected.  Ms. Lundberg’s ability to operate her motor vehicle 
was significantly impaired by the drugs present in her system.”  According to her own statement, Ms. 
Lundberg said that “prior to the crash, she stopped to purchase coffee and NoDoz™ to make sure she 
would be safe because she had not slept well the night before.”   

Janeen Lundberg was ordered to stand trial on charges of second degree automobile homicide or second 
degree manslaughter; driving under the influence of drugs with serious bodily injury, a third degree felony; 
failure to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk, a class C misdemeanor; and making an illegal turn, a class 
C misdemeanor.  Trial was averted when Ms. Lundberg entered into a plea deal on September 9, 2013, 
where she pled guilty to a reduced count of automobile homicide as a third degree felony, and to driving 
under the influence of drugs with serious bodily injury, also a third degree felony.  On December 16, 2013, 
Ms. Lundberg was sentenced to 0-5 years in prison for each count, to be served concurrently.                                                               

Introduction 

1 
A 

Information for this story and the story on the following page was obtained from the Information, Warrant of Arrest, Witness 
Statement and Sentencing Memorandum provided by the Salt Lake County District Attorney’s Office; as well as articles in the 
Deseret News and The Salt Lake Tribune, and reports on the ksl.com and The CW30 websites. 

Ambrosia Amalathithada-Ramseyer 
2005 - 2012 

 

While DUI/alcohol-related fatalities in Utah 
decreased from 39 in CY 2011 to 20 in CY 2012, 

DUI/drug-related fatalities, including those 
involving illicit, prescription and 

over-the-counter drugs, are on the rise and 
increased from 30 in 2011 to 37 in 2012.  

Following are the stories of two drug-related 
DUI tragedies that were completely 

preventable.       
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 hristmas Eve 2011 changed the lives of the Pack family forever.                                                                               
As they were traveling home to American Fork from a holiday                                                                 
party, a Suburban crossed the median at 9600 South and 1000                                                                 

West in West Jordan and hit their Subaru Outback head-on.  Ryan and                                                                     
Kelly Pack, and their two young sons, 3-year-old Finn and 18-month-old                                                                                
Colum, were all hospitalized with serious injuries.  Baby Colum passed                                                                 
away in his parents’ arms just hours later, on Christmas Day.    
      
The driver of the Suburban, 55-year-old Thomas Ainsworth, was                                                        
allegedly reaching for his cell phone when he lost control of his                                                                         
vehicle and crashed into the Pack family.  Results of toxicology tests                                                                 
showed Ainsworth, who was also injured in the collision, had                                                             
methamphetamine and marijuana metabolite in his system.  In                                                                          
March of 2012, he was charged with driving with a measurable                                                                    
controlled substance in his body and causing death, and two counts                                                                                          
of driving  with a measurable controlled substance in his body and  causing serious bodily injury, all 
second degree felonies.  He was also charged with crossing over the median, a class C misdemeanor.  In 
July 2013, Ainsworth pled guilty to three counts of negligent driving that caused injury or death; in 
exchange for admitting guilt, charges of crossing the median and driving without insurance were dropped.  
In September 2013, Thomas Ainsworth was given the maximum sentence of one to 15 years for each 
count, to be served consecutively.                                                 

Ryan and Kelly Pack’s injuries were so severe that initially they were physically unable to care for their 
surviving son.  Today, although their physical injuries still restrict them, Ryan, Kelly and Finn are trying to 
move on with their lives.  But the emotional injuries from that Christmas Eve may be more difficult to 
overcome.  Consider Kelly Pack’s heartache when she said of little Colum, “I will never get to see those 
beautiful blue eyes and that big mischievous smile ever again.”      

Purpose of the Report 
The Eleventh Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was 
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code.  The statute requires the 
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI 
related data, including the following: 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement 
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving 
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs; 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements 
collected by the state courts); and 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and 
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of: 

o law enforcement; 

o adjudication; 

o sanctions; 

o driver license control; and 

o alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 

C 

Colum Jacob Pack 
2010 - 2011 
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2013 DUI Legislation 

The following bills and appropriation were passed by                                                                
the Utah Legislature in the 2013 General Session:  

S.B. 13 Amendments to Ignition Interlock Program   
Senator Daniel W. Thatcher      

This bill provides that the Driver License Division may only clear the 
suspension for an ignition interlock violation if the division 
electronically verifies that the person does not have a vehicle 
registered in the person’s name in the state of Utah, rather than a 
vehicle registered in any state.  

  
S.B. 146 Driving Under the Influence Amendments 

Senator Scott K. Jenkins      

This bill establishes minimum hours that a court shall require a person 
to participate in home confinement, if the court orders home 
confinement through the use of electronic monitoring for a first, 
second, or felony driving under the influence offense. 
 
Provides that a court may order the imposition of an ankle attached 
continuous transdermal alcohol monitoring device as a condition of 
probation if a person is convicted of a driving under the influence 
violation and there is admissible evidence that the person had a blood 
alcohol level of .16 or higher. 
 

H.B. 128 Driver License Suspension Modifications 
Representative Douglas V. Sagers      

This bill amends the driver license suspension periods for a person 
who is under 19 years of age and is convicted of certain alcohol and 
drug related offenses. 
 
Amends the amount of time that a court may shorten a person’s driver 
license suspension for certain alcohol or drug related offenses prior to 
the completion of the suspension period if the person is under 19 
years of age and completes certain requirements. 
 
Amends the administrative suspension periods for persons under 19 
years of age who have violated certain alcohol or drug related 
offenses. 
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Appropriation 
Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account  
The 2013 Legislature appropriated $5,463,800 to the Alcoholic 
Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32B-2-
401) for FY 2014.  Funding from this account is distributed annually 
on a formula basis to Utah’s municipalities and counties to be used for 
one or more of the following purposes:  (1) alcohol-related prevention/ 
education; (2) treatment of offenders with alcohol problems; (3) 
alcohol-related law enforcement, including DUI; (4) prosecution of 
alcohol-related cases; and (5) confinement of alcohol law offenders. 
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USAAV DUI Committee 

The Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council maintains a DUI                          
Committee whose members represent state and local agencies                                   
and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah.  The                                
Committee works closely with the Legislature to recommend                                        
and review proposed legislation that will strengthen Utah’s ability                                    
to more effectively address the DUI problem. 

USAAV DUI Committee Membership 
Senator Stuart Adams Senator 

Utah State Senate 
David Beach Director, Utah Highway Safety Office 

Utah Department of Public Safety 
Edward Berkovich 
 

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor 
Utah Prosecution Council 

Bart Blackstock Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director of the 
Driver License Division, Utah Department of Public Safety 

Paul Boyden, Chair Executive Director 
Statewide Association of Prosecutors 

Art Brown Representative of DUI Victims, Past President of the 
Utah Chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving 

Patty Fox Probation Program Manager 
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services 

Colonel Daniel Fuhr Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Kim Gibb, Vice Chair Records Bureau Chief, Driver License Division 
Utah Department of Public Safety 

Chief Wayne Hansen Farmington Police Department 
Utah Chiefs of Police Association 

Linda Mayne Education Specialist for Driver Education 
Utah State Office of Education 

Doug Murakami Director of Alcohol Education 
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Sheriff Frank Park Tooele County Sheriff’s Office 
Utah Sheriffs Association 

Teri Pectol Impaired Driving/Youth Alcohol Program Manager, Utah 
Highway Safety Office, Utah Department of Public Safety  

Richard Schwermer Assistant State Court Administrator 
Administrative Office of the Courts 

Holly Watson Substance Abuse Education Program Manager 
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health  

Mary Lou Emerson, Director                         Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council 
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Law Enforcement 
The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests.  In FY 2013, law enforcement 
officers made 12,227 DUI arrests.  This was 804 fewer than in FY 2012, representing a 
decrease of over six percent, and a decrease of over 11 percent since FY 2011.   

DUI Arrests 
DUI Arrests by Violation Type 
As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in 
FY 2013 was very similar to previous years.  Nearly 81 percent of the arrests were for 
per se violations where the driver had a .08 or greater blood/breath alcohol 
concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the 
extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle.  Under Utah law, drivers are considered to 
have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids to determine whether 
they are driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.  Almost 12 percent of 
arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical test.  It is also illegal to drive with any 
measurable controlled substance metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for almost 
two percent of arrests.  Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age 
of 21 who drove with any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for 
4.5 percent of the arrests, a decrease of nearly eight percent from the previous year 
and 22.5 percent since FY 2011.  The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers 
exceeding the .04 limit, which represented only 0.1 percent of the total.           

DUI Arrests by 
Violation Type 

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 Percent 
Change 

FY 12–FY 13 Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Per se Alcohol/Drug 11,586 83.9% 10,911 83.7% 9,872 80.7% -9.5% 
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,324 9.6% 1,350 10.4% 1,415 11.6% +4.8% 
Not a Drop (< 21) 706 5.1% 594 4.6% 547 4.5% -7.9% 
Drug Metabolite 185 1.3% 149 1.1% 191 1.6% +28.2% 
Commercial Driver (.04) 15 0.1% 27 0.2% 17 0.1% -37.0% 
Unknown (no box marked) 0 0.0% 0 0.0% 185 1.5% NA 
TOTAL 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0% 12,227 100.0% -6.2% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

Law 
Enforcement 

2 
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
The arrests made in FY 2013 included those that occurred as a result of specialized 
DUI overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and 
DUI checkpoints.  A portion of the DUI impound fees collected was specifically 
designated to fund the overtime shifts.  During FY 2013, 104 law enforcement agencies 
throughout the state participated in overtime events, including local police agencies, 
sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, Motor Vehicle Enforcement, Utah Parks and 
Recreation, Utah Wildlife Resources, and three university police departments.   

The table below shows the measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement 
events in FY 2013.  Of the total 996 DUI arrests, 768 were for alcohol, 155 were for 
other drugs, and 73 were for drug metabolite.    

Statewide DUI Overtime 
Enforcement Events FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 Percent Change 

FY 12 – FY 13 
DUI Shifts Worked 2,183 2,116 2,306  +9.0%  
Vehicles Stopped 21,352 19,313 26,306  +36.2%  
DUI Arrests 1,020 972 996  +2.5%  
Vehicles Impounded 929 915 629  -31.3%  
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 640 566 634  +12.0%  
Drug-Related Arrests** 509 468 489  +4.5%  
Warrants Served 465 384 424  +10.4%  
Other Warnings/Citations 17,547 17,425 21,370  +22.6%  
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,   
Not a Drop) 
**Felony and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)    

DUI Arrests by Agency Type 
Fifty-three percent of all DUI arrests in FY 2013 were made by municipal law 
enforcement agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for almost 35 
percent, and county sheriffs’ offices responsible for almost 12 percent. 

DUI Arrests by  
Agency Type 

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Sheriffs’ Offices 1,787 12.9% 1,873 14.4% 1,439 11.8% 
City Police/Other 7,140 51.7% 6,586 50.5% 6,542 53.5% 
Highway Patrol 4,889 35.4% 4,572 35.1% 4,246 34.7% 
TOTAL 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0% 12,227 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Gender 
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female 
arrestees have remained fairly consistent over the past three years.  In FY 2013, 
nearly 72 percent of arrestees were male and 27 percent were female.   
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DUI Arrests by Gender 

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Male 10,109 73.2% 9,448 72.5% 8,753 71.6% 
Female 3,663 26.5% 3,539 27.2% 3,369 27.5% 
Unspecified 44 0.3% 44 0.3% 105 0.9% 
TOTAL 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0% 12,227 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Age 
The youngest DUI driver in FY 2013 was 13 years old, and the oldest were 79-81 
years of age.  Nearly 12 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 
21, an increase of nearly 40 percent since the previous year.  Drivers ages 25-36 
accounted for nearly 40 percent of all arrests for DUI.       

 
DUI Arrests by Age 

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Age Unknown 1 < 0.1% 4 < 0.1% 0 0.0% 
Ages 13-20 1,303 9.4% 1,046 8.0% 1,460 11.9% 
Ages 21-24 2,458 17.8% 2,271 17.4% 2,144 17.5% 
Ages 25-36 5,411 39.2% 5,275 40.5% 4,838 39.6% 
Ages 37-48 2,737 19.8% 2,612 20.0% 2,231 18.3% 
Ages 49-87 1,906 13.8% 1,823 14.0% 1,554 12.7% 
TOTAL 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0% 12,227 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) 
The average BAC in FY 2013 was .146 (median BAC was .14), the same as in the past 
several years.  The highest BAC recorded was .42, over five times the legal limit! 

DUI Arrests by BAC FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Results Not Reported 3,994 28.9% 4,929 37.8% 4,573* 37.4% 
.008 - .07  813 5.9% 763 5.9% 528 4.3% 
.08 - .10 1,402 10.1% 1,334 10.2% 1,043 8.5% 
.11 - .15 2,528 18.3% 2,457 18.9% 2,160 17.7% 
.16 - .20 1,833 13.3% 1,614 12.4% 1,589 13.0% 
.21 - .25 807 5.8% 729 5.6% 659 5.4% 
.26 - .45  314 2.3% 312 2.4% 265 2.2% 

Refused BAC Test 1,345 9.7% 276 2.1% 1,410 11.5% 
No Test/Unknown 495 3.6% 617 4.7% Not Available 

Drug Only 285 2.1% 0 0.0% Not Available 
TOTAL 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0% 12,227 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
*Arrestee may have submitted to a blood test, but the Driver License Division never received the results, or this was a 
DUI/drug-related arrest and there was no BAC. 
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According to a 2011 report published by the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention (CDC), to reach a BAC of .14, a 160-pound man would need to consume 
between five and seven beers within one hour (see table below).1 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
DUI Arrests by Month 
As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2013, with 
an average of 1,019 arrests per month.  The highest number of arrests occurred in 
March (1,210), with the lowest number of arrests in April (862). 

 
DUI Arrests by Month 

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

July 1,359 9.8% 1,309 10.0% 1,055 8.6% 
August 1,264 9.1% 1,086 8.3% 1,052 8.6% 
September 1,152 8.3% 1,188 9.1% 1,058 8.6% 
October 1,303 9.4% 1,190 9.1% 956 7.8% 
November 965 7.0% 1,019 7.8% 1,041 8.5% 
December 1,094 7.9% 1,065 8.2% 1,138 9.3% 
January 1,202 8.7% 1,016 7.8% 915 7.5% 
February 1,061 7.7% 1,022 7.8% 1,006 8.3% 
March 1,178 8.5% 1,067 8.2% 1,210 9.9% 
April 1,095 7.9% 992 7.6% 862 7.1% 
May 1,128 8.2% 1,052 8.1% 986 8.1% 
June 1,015 7.3% 1,025 7.9% 948 7.7% 
TOTAL 13,816 100.0% 13,031 100.0% 12,227 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

                                                                        

1 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving:  A Threat to Everyone, October 
2011.   
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DUI Arrests by County 
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2013 occurred along 
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 71 
percent (8,697) of the total.  Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with 
5,096 (41.7%), while Wayne County had the fewest arrests with one (.01%).  The table 
below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the percentage of both total 
population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.   

County 
DUI Arrests 

FY 2013 
July 1, 2012        

Utah Population 
Estimates 

Vehicle Miles Traveled 
Calendar Year 2012 

Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 
Beaver 49 0.40% 6,589 0.23% 252,117,515 0.95% 
Box Elder 145 1.19% 50,705 1.78% 877,987,924 3.30% 
Cache 391 3.20% 115,851 4.06% 876,333,868 3.29% 
Carbon 135 1.10% 21,431 0.75% 305,487,505 1.15% 
Daggett 12 0.10% 1,107 0.04% 30,438,948 0.11% 
Davis 1,064 8.70% 317,248 11.12% 2,531,978,716 9.51% 
Duchesne 195 1.59% 19,572 0.69% 275,632,039 1.03% 
Emery 64 0.52% 10,846 0.38% 381,235,825 1.43% 
Garfield 18 0.15% 5,125 0.18% 110,821,951 0.42% 
Grand 149 1.22% 9,420 0.33% 320,551,102 1.20% 
Iron 236 1.93% 46,883 1.64% 700,741,148 2.63% 
Juab 113 0.92% 10,426 0.37% 384,471,346 1.44% 
Kane 40 0.33% 7,282 0.26% 171,426,081 0.64% 
Millard 80 0.65% 12,625 0.44% 455,557,644 1.71% 
Morgan 25 0.20% 9,913 0.35% 132,992,730 0.50% 
Piute 4 0.03% 1,537 0.05% 28,419,196 0.11% 
Rich 15 0.12% 2,255 0.08% 49,199,382 0.18% 
Salt Lake 5,096 41.68% 1,059,112 37.13% 8,748,849,791 32.84% 
San Juan 80 0.65% 15,232 0.53% 307,019,232 1.15% 
Sanpete 60 0.49% 28,067 0.98% 205,894,610 0.77% 
Sevier 112 0.92% 20,914 0.73% 319,951,941 1.20% 
Summit 255 2.09% 37,704 1.32% 728,385,245 2.73% 
Tooele 440 3.60% 59,984 2.10% 823,015,404 3.09% 
Uintah 353 2.89% 34,435 1.21% 414,298,005 1.56% 
Utah 1,450 11.86% 541,378 18.98% 3,830,963,768 14.38% 
Wasatch 155 1.27% 25,354 0.89% 334,601,920 1.26% 
Washington 402 3.29% 143,352 5.03% 1,379,312,655 5.18% 
Wayne 1 0.01% 2,725 0.10% 47,366,479 0.18% 
Weber 1,087 8.89% 235,517 8.26% 1,612,361,237 6.05% 
Unknown 1 0.01% Not Applicable Not Applicable 

TOTAL 12,227 100.00% 2,852,589 100.00% 26,637,413,207 100.00% 
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  Utah Population Estimates Committee 
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled:  Utah Department of Transportation 
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DUI Arrest Rates by Population 
The following table and figure illustrate the number of DUI arrests made in Utah by 
fiscal year, compared to the state’s population.  While Utah’s population has 
continued to grow, the DUI arrest rate has declined steadily since FY 2009.  
 

Utah DUI Arrests Compared to 
Population FY 2004 - FY 2013 

Fiscal 
Year 

DUI 
Arrests 

Population 
as of 
July 1 

DUI 
Arrest 
Rate* 

2004 14,461 2,372,457 60.95 
2005 13,675 2,430,224 56.27 
2006 14,138 2,505,844 56.42 
2007 14,658 2,576,228 56.90 
2008 15,297 2,636,077 58.03 
2009 15,683 2,691,122 58.28 
2010 15,285 2,731,558 55.96 
2011 13,816 2,774,663 49.79 
2012 13,031 2,813,923 46.31 
2013 12,227 2,852,589 42.86 

Source of DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source of Population Data:  Governor’s Office of Management and Budget, Demographic and Economic Analysis Section, 
Utah Population Estimates Committee (as of July 1 of fiscal year) 
*DUI arrest rate is the number of DUI arrests per 10,000 people 

 
Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest 
The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest.  Data 
were calculated by identifying arrests that occurred in FY 2013 as a starting point, 
then counting back ten years to determine previous arrests.  Each arrest was 
placed in a column determined by the type of the arrest or violation.  Nearly 69 
percent of arrests were for a first offense, 20 percent were for a second offense, 
seven percent were for a third offense, and almost four percent were for a fourth or 
subsequent offense.   
 

FY 2013 
Arrest 

Type 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08)/ 
Drug 

Refusal 
of 

Chemical 
Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(< 21) 

Drug 
Metabolite 

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) U

nk
no

w
n 

(n
o 

bo
x 

m
ar

ke
d)

 

TOTAL 

Offense Number Percent 

1st 6,909 784 499 159 16 64 8,431 68.9% 
2nd 1,964 369 33 23 1 71 2,461 20.1% 
3rd 668 142 14 6 0 32 862 7.0% 
4th 220 60 1 3 0 8 292 2.4% 
5th 68 36 0 0 0 6 110 0.9% 
6th 28 13 0 0 0 1 42 0.4% 
7th 10 8 0 0 0 3 21 0.2% 

8th- 9th 5 3 0 0 0 0 8 0.1% 
TOTAL 9,872 1,415 547 191 17 185 12,227 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities                           
The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/alcohol-related crash fatalities 
from calendar years 2003 through 2012. 

 

                                           

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
 

The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes involving 
alcohol for each calendar year from 2003 to 2012, including the number of persons injured 
and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes.  The number of DUI-related 
fatalities involving drivers with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater in Utah decreased 
from 39 in calendar year 2011 to 20 in calendar year 2012, or nearly 49 percent.  

DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2003-2012 

Calendar 
Year 

Crashes Injuries Fatalities 
Total 

Crashes 
DUI/ 

Alcohol 
Crashes* 

Percent  
DUI/  

Alcohol 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI/  
Alcohol 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI/ 

Alcohol 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI/ 
Alcohol 

Fatalities** 

Percent 
DUI/ 

Alcohol 

2003 50,389 1,952 3.9% 28,352 1,360 4.8% 309 29   9.4% 
2004 53,905 1,948 3.6% 29,638 1,570 5.3% 296 56 18.9% 
2005 54,938 1,977 3.6% 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 22   7.8% 
2006 56,187 2,488 4.4% 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6% 
2007 61,245 2,718 4.4% 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0% 
2008 56,367 2,330 4.1% 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3% 
2009 51,367 2,019 3.9% 22,847 1,288 5.6% 244 31 12.7% 
2010 49,368 1,723 3.5% 21,675 1,150 5.3% 253 25 9.9% 
2011 52,287 1,662 3.2% 22,325 1,019 4.6% 243 39 16.0% 
2012 50,600 1,727 3.4% 22,336 1,043 4.7% 217 20 9.2% 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.   
**DUI-related fatalities include only drivers with a BAC of ≥ .08. 

 
 

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were  
  DUI/Alcohol-Related in Utah, Calendar Years 2003-2012 
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DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities 
The table below shows the number of DUI-related vehicle crashes, injuries and 
fatalities involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08) for available years.  
The most common types of drugs found in fatal drug-related crashes are THC 
(tetrahydrocannabinol, the primary psychoactive ingredient in marijuana) and 
methamphetamine.  Although the number of DUI/drug-related crashes decreased from 
CY 2011 to CY 2012, the number of deaths increased from 30 to 37, a 23 percent increase. 
 

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2007-2012 

Calendar 
Year 

Crashes Injuries Fatalities 
Total 

Crashes 
DUI/    
Drug 

Crashes* 

Percent  
DUI/     
Drug 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI/Drug 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI/ 
Drug 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 
DUI/Drug 

Fatalities** 
Percent 

DUI/ 
Drug 

2007 61,245 158 0.3% 27,420 113 0.4% 299 16 5.4% 
2008 56,367 565 1.0% 24,673 428 1.7% 276 12 4.3% 
2009 51,367 547 1.1% 22,847 443 1.9% 244 36 14.8% 
2010 49,368 525 1.1% 21,675 382 1.8% 253 26 10.3% 
2011 52,287 603 1.1% 22,325 388 1.7% 243 30 12.3% 
2012 50,600 548 1.1% 22,336 383 1.7% 217 37 17.1% 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.  
**DUI/drug-related fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08. 
 
Note:  Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment.  For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after 
any impairment that might affect driving has passed.  Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of 
alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance. 
 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled 
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and 
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, for calendar years 2003 through 2012. 

Calendar 
Year 

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and               
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, Calendar Years 2003-2012 

DUI-
Related 

Fatalities* 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
10,000 Population 

DUI-Related Fatality Rates per 
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled 

Population  
as of July 1 Rate Vehicle Miles 

Traveled Rate 

2003 29 2,372,457 0.12 23,946,840,430 0.12 
2004 56 2,430,224 0.23 24,624,791,795 0.23 
2005 22 2,505,844 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09 
2006 39 2,576,228 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15 
2007 42 2,636,077 0.16 26,824,244,333 0.16 
2008 34 2,691,122 0.13 25,883,467,343 0.13 
2009 31 2,731,558 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12 
2010 25 2,774,663 0.09 26,617,169,711 0.09 
2011 39 2,813,923 0.14 26,379,900,505 0.15 
2012 20 2,852,589 0.07 26,637,413,207 0.08 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI-related fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of ≥ .08. 
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The figure below illustrates the rates of DUI-related fatalities in Utah for calendar 
years 2003 through 2012, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled.  From CY 2011 to 
CY 2012, the DUI-related fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled decreased 
from 0.15 to 0.08. 

Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled of  
DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, Calendar Years 2003-2012 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

 

 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 

 

Month, Day and Hour of Alcohol-Impaired Driver Crashes 
The Utah Highway Safety Office reports in calendar year 2012 the highest rates per day 
of alcohol-impaired driver crashes were in June (5.5), August (5.3), and November 
(5.2), with the lowest rate per day in March (4.0).  The highest rate per day of fatal 
alcohol-impaired driver crashes occurred in October (0.10) and December (0.10).  The 
highest percentages of alcohol-impaired driver total crashes occurred on Saturday 
(22.8%) and Sunday (22.6%).  The highest percentages of alcohol-impaired driver fatal 
crashes also occurred on Saturday (47.4%) and Sunday (21.1%).  Alcohol-impaired 
driver total crashes peaked in the evening and early morning hours, between 5:00 p.m. 
and 3:59 a.m.  Fatal alcohol-impaired driver crashes varied by hour. 
 

 

 
 

Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement 
The state’s beer tax funds are used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other alcohol-
related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities.  For FY 2013, the 
Legislature appropriated $5,118,400 to be distributed from the Alcoholic Beverage 
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account (§32B-2-401) to municipalities and 

According to the Utah Highway Safety Office, an 
alcohol-impaired driver crash occurs in Utah every 
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counties statewide on a formula basis.2  Funds may be spent in one or more of five 
general categories:  (1) alcohol-related prevention/education; (2) treatment of offenders 
with alcohol problems; (3) alcohol-related law enforcement, including DUI;                   
(4) prosecution of alcohol-related cases; and (5) confinement of alcohol law offenders.  
In order to receive beer tax funds, eligible municipalities and counties must submit an 
annual plan to the Utah Substance Abuse Advisory (USAAV) Council prior to the 
beginning of the fiscal year.  Municipalities and counties receiving funding are also 
required to submit an annual report to the USAAV Council by October 1st of each year, 
outlining how funds were utilized, whether the programs or projects funded were 
effective, and certifying the funds were used in accordance with the law.  In accordance 
with the statute, those that do not submit their reports forfeit their funds for the current 
fiscal year and the funds are allocated to other entities. 

The figure to the right and the table below show how                                               FY 
2013 funds were utilized, including dollars spent for                                                                
each allowable activity, as reported in the Beer Tax                                                              
Funds Annual Reports submitted to the USAAV                                                               
Council. 

                                                                        

2 In accordance with §32B-2-404 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes beer tax funds to municipalities 
and counties in December of each year based upon the following formula:  percentage of state population 
residing in each municipality and county (25%); each municipality’s and county’s percentage of the statewide 
convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); the percentage of the following in the state that are located in 
each municipality and county:  state stores, package agencies, retail licensees, and off-premise beer retailers 
(20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes (for persons arrested for or convicted of offenses in which 
alcohol is a contributing factor) on the basis of the percentage of the state population located in each county 
(25% to counties only). 

3 Recipients may use beer tax funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute. 

4 Of the total FY 2013 appropriation of $5,118,400, a net distribution of $5,116,755.80 was allocated via formula 
to eligible municipalities and counties.  The net distribution is determined after the Tax Commission subtracts a 
fee of $6 per distribution from the total ($1,644 in FY 2013).  In addition, the total amount of funding actually 
expended may be less than the amount distributed because some municipalities and counties did not utilize all 
of their funding during the fiscal year, in which case they may carry it over into the new fiscal year. 

 

 
FY 2013 Beer Tax Funds Reports 

How Funds Were Used 
All (170) Entities Reporting 

Municipalities and 
Counties Utilizing 

Beer Tax Funds for 
Each Activity 

Beer Tax Funding 
Expended for Each 

Activity 
Number Percent3 Amount Percent 

Alcohol-Related Prevention/Education 55 32.35% $     188,193.90 3.97% 
Treatment of Offenders with Alcohol Problems 10 5.88% 776,597.28 16.40% 
Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 136 80.00% 2,343,349.01 49.49% 
Prosecution of Alcohol-Related Cases 46 27.06% 428,044.37 9.04% 
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 26 15.29% 999,067.93 21.10% 

Totals $4,735,252.494 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council, FY 2013 Beer Tax Funds Annual Reports 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type 
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  The Justice Courts, which are sponsored 
by municipalities and counties, handle DUI offenses classified as class B 
misdemeanors.  DUI offenses classified as class A misdemeanors and felonies are 
under the jurisdiction of the state’s District Courts.  A DUI offense is classified as a  
class A misdemeanor if it involves bodily injury, a passenger under 16, or a passenger 
under 18 if the driver is 21 or older.  A DUI offense is classified as a third degree felony 
if it is a third or subsequent offense within 10 years, if it involves serious bodily injury, or 
if the person has any prior felony DUI conviction or automobile homicide conviction.   

Justice Court DUI Data 
Justice Court DUI Cases and Outcomes 
The following table details the 9,023 DUI cases in the Justice Courts during FY 2013.  
There were 576 fewer cases than in the previous year, a decrease of six percent.  
About 58 percent of cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, with nine percent not guilty 
or dismissed.  This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate, however, as 
it includes cases filed in previous fiscal years that were not resolved until FY 2013.  In 
addition, 2,991 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2013. 

Justice Court DUI 
Case Outcomes 

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 % Change  
FY 12 – FY 13 Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Guilty 5,367 53.3% 5,702 59.4% 5,205 57.7% -8.7% 
Dismissed or Not Guilty 1,826 18.1% 870 9.1% 827 9.2% -4.9% 
Cases Pending 2,884 28.6% 3,027 31.5% 2,991 33.1% -1.2% 
TOTAL 10,077 100.0% 9,599 100.0% 9,023 100.0% -6.0% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data 
The Justice Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the table on 
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2011, 2012 and 2013, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  

Adjudications 
& Sanctions 

3 
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The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.  In FY 2013 for 
example, 15 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a second offense, while about 
17 percent were actually second-time offenders, and 16 percent were sentenced as 
second-time offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not 
unusual.  An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may 
not be the same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural 
issues.   

Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2011-20135 

Offense 
Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As 

FY 11 FY 12 FY 13 FY 11 FY 12 FY 13 FY 11 FY 12 FY 13 
1st Offense 84.3% 84.4% 84.7% 81.3% 82.1% 82.2% 83.0% 83.7% 83.6% 
2nd Offense 15.6% 15.3% 15.2% 18.1% 17.0% 16.8% 16.8% 16.0% 16.0% 
3rd Offense 0.1% 0.1% 0.2% 0.4% 0.6% 0.7% 0.2% 0.2% 0.3% 
4th Offense 0.0% <0.1% 0.0% <0.1% 0.1% 0.2% 0.0% <0.1% 0.1% 

5th or Greater 
Offense 0.1% 0.1% 0.0% 0.1% 0.2% 0.1% 0.0% <0.1% 0.0% 

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions 
Additional DUI-related case information collected by the Justice Courts is shown in the 
table below.  The table includes data for those Justice Courts in the Courts Information 
System (CORIS).  The data indicate in FY 2013 judges ordered offenders to participate 
in an educational series in 2,629 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in 
2,144 cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 767 cases. 

Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 122 119 121 
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 3,422 3,621 3,224 
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 3,122 3,794 3,456 
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 2,141 2,409 2,144 
Educational Series Ordered 2,729 3,066 2,629 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 564 831 767 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 2,891 3,255 2,916 
Electronic Monitoring 187 189 214 
Enhancement Notification NA 1,113 1,162 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

                                                                        

5 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known.  In addition, the 
following cases were not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and 
transferred. 
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District Court DUI Data 
As shown in the table below, Utah’s District Courts disposed 2,305 DUI cases during 
FY 2013, 203 more than in FY 2012.   

   
DUI in Utah’s District Courts 

 
FY 2011 

 
FY 2012 

 
FY 2013 

% Change  
FY 12 – FY 13 

District Court Cases Disposed 2,115 2,102 2,305 +9.7% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court DUI Case Outcomes 
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,305 DUI cases 
disposed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2013.  Nearly 76 percent of the 
cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, and the defendant was found not guilty in only 
one case.  Thirteen percent of the cases were dismissed.  This table is not a depiction 
of the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it includes only those cases that 
were disposed during FY 2013.  Pending cases were not included in the data analysis. 

FY 2013 District Court DUI Case Outcomes by Judicial District 
DUI Case 
Outcomes 

Judicial District  
Total 

 
Percent 1st  2nd  3rd  4th  5th  6th  7th  8th  

Deceased 0 1 1 2 1 0 1 4 10 0.4% 
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0% 
Dismissed 36 46 85 66 12 18 14 25 302 13.1% 
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0% 
Guilty 128 344 553 366 109 46 67 131 1,744 75.7% 
No Contest 1 1 4 22 1 1 1 3 34 1.5% 
Not Guilty 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 < 0.1% 
Plea in Abeyance 2 3 2 3 1 4 1 3 19 0.8% 
Remanded 0 4 65 7 5 0 0 1 82 3.6% 
Transferred 0 1 81 30 0 0 1 0 113 4.9% 
TOTAL 167 400 791 496 130 69 85 167 2,305 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data 
The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled.  In the table on 
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2011, 2012 and 2013, the first 
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.  
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that 
criterion.  The last column shows how the offender was sentenced.  In FY 2013 for 
example, 31 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, while 25 
percent were actually third-time offenders, and 23 percent were sentenced as third-time 
offenders.  Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual.  An 
offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the 
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues. 
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District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2011-20136 

Offense 
Offense Was 
Charged As 

Offense Was 
Actually 

Offense Was 
Sentenced As 

FY 11 FY 12 FY 13 FY 11 FY 12 FY 13 FY 11 FY 12 FY 13 
1st Offense 51% 46% 49% 47% 47% 52% 53% 52% 56% 
2nd Offense 15% 18% 16% 19% 21% 18% 18% 19% 18% 
3rd Offense 28% 30% 31% 24% 25% 25% 22% 25% 23% 
4th Offense 4% 3% 1% 6% 3% 1% 3% 2% 1% 

5th-10th 
Offense 2% 3% 2% 4% 4% 4% 3% 2% 2% 

TOTAL 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions 
Other DUI-related case information, including sanctions ordered, is also collected by the 
District Courts.  The table below includes the FY 2013 data for those cases where the 
values were known.  The table shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an 
educational series in 308 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in 630 
cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 275 cases.  

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 

Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 451 462 455 
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 691 623 693 
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 674 613 630 
Educational Series Ordered 337 303 308 
Ignition Interlock Ordered 295 246 275 
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 792 793 887 
Electronic Monitoring 119 101 116 
Enhancement Notification 100% 100% 100% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

The DUI Sentencing Matrix included at the end of this report provides detailed information 
regarding DUI offense classifications and sanctions. 

                                                                        

6 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known.  In addition, the 
following cases were not included:  bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and 
transferred. 



E L E V E N T H  A N N U A L  D U I  R E P O R T  T O  T H E  U T A H  L E G I S L A T U R E  

 23 

Driver License Control 
The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or 
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 

• Driving under the influence 
• Driving with any measurable controlled substance metabolite in the body 
• Not a Drop violation 
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
• Automobile homicide 
• “No-alcohol” conditional license 
• Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
• Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license 
is issued.  Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License 
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license. 

As shown in the table below, there were 5,206 requested alcohol hearings held in      
FY 2013.  The Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting 
officer does not appear at the hearing.  To improve appearance rates, the Division 
offers a telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.  

Driver License 
Control 

4 

FY 2013 Alcohol Hearing Statistics 
ACD Code Total # of 

Hearings 
No 

Officer 
No Officer 
Telephonic 

Other  
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Total 
Telephonic 

Per Se 4,475 847 Not Available 660 1,507 Not Available 

Not a Drop 110 23 Not Available 6 41 Not Available 

Refusal 621 116 Not Available 49 165 Not Available 

TOTAL 5,206 986 Not Available 715 1,713 Not Available 

Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Screening, Assessment, 
Education and Treatment 

Screening and Assessment 
As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to 
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment.  A 
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual 
has a problem with alcohol and/or other drug abuse, and if so, whether an in-depth 
clinical assessment is appropriate.  An assessment is a collection of detailed 
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other drug abuse, emotional 
and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the individual’s life.  
The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use disorder 
treatment.7   The following table shows the orders for substance use disorder 
screening and assessment by the District and Justice Courts in FY 2013, for those 
cases where the values were known. 

Substance Use Disorder Screening and 
Assessment Ordered by the Courts FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 

Justice Courts 3,122 3,794 3,456 
District Courts 691 623 693 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
Education 
For a first DUI offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must 
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.     
The purpose of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to 
                                                                        

7 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 

Assessment, 
Education & 
Treatment 

5 
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be related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize 
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the 
dangers of drinking and driving.”8  Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational 
series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program developed by the Prevention 
Research Institute (PRI).  “PRIME For Life® is a motivational intervention that provides 
education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems due to high-
risk alcohol or drug use.  PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and 
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs 
about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices.  The program provides 
research-based, low-risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best 
protect what they value.”9   

In the PFL program, “low-risk choices are defined as abstinence from drug use.  The 
guidelines for alcohol include abstinence for those who have already developed 
alcoholism; otherwise no more than one standard drink (1/2 ounce of pure alcohol) in 
an hour, two standard drinks daily, or three standard drinks on any day (known as the 
0-1-2-3 guidelines).  The peak amount per week is 14 standard drinks.”  High-risk 
choices are defined as any use that causes impairment or increases overall risk for 
health problems or premature death.  Examples include using illegal drugs, prescription 
drugs other than as prescribed, or exceeding the 0-1-2-3 guidelines for alcohol.  
Additionally, PFL identifies some situations (e.g., driving, illness, medications, and 
workplace) when any amount of use may be high-risk.”10    

The following table shows the orders for the educational series by the Justice and 
District Courts in FY 2013, for those cases where values were known. 

Educational Series Ordered by the Courts FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 
Justice Courts 2,729 3,066 2,629 
District Courts 337 303 308 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
 

PRI conducts periodic studies of PFL participants to measure the impact on changing 
beliefs about alcohol and other drug use, understanding the risks associated with 
alcohol/drug use, and desire to change personal drinking and drug use behaviors.  In 
previous years this study was published annually; however, because the findings have 
been virtually identical from year to year, PRI now publishes the study less frequently.  
The most recent study provides data on 442 Utahns who participated in the PFL 
program during 2011, nearly all of whom were ordered to PFL following a substance-

                                                                        

8 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

9Stafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April).  PRIME For Life 
UTAH 2011 Evaluation Report Executive Summary.  Lexington, KY:  Prevention Research Institute. 

10 Ibid. 
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related arrest.  Participants ranged in age from 15 to 74, with an average age of 29.  
Findings from this study are summarized in the table below and on the following page.11  

2011 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes 
Gender 
  Male 65% 
  Female 35% 

 

Race/Ethnicity 
  Caucasian 76% 
  Hispanic 14% 
  Multiracial 4% 
  Other 6% 

 

Type of Offense 
  Impaired Driving  59% 
  At Least One Previous Arrest for Impaired Driving 15% 
  Drug Possession 10% 
  Underage Drinking 22% 
  Not Arrested or Referred by Court 2% 
  Other 7% 
  

Key Findings   Pretest Posttest 
High Risk Attitudes and Beliefs 

 What is the maximum number of drinks you 
could drink in a day before it is high risk for 
you? 
-   0-3 drinks 
-   4+ drinks 
 

 Perceived risk for alcoholism/addiction: 
-   I could develop alcoholism 
-   I could develop drug addiction 

 
Readiness for Change 

 Usual number of drinks consumed in a day: 
-   Abstain 
-   1-3 drinks 
-   4+ drinks 

 
 How motivated are you to reduce or maintain 

your drinking at low-risk levels? 
-   A lot/Extremely 
-   A little/Somewhat 
-   Not at all 

 
 
 
 

41% 
59% 

 
 

43% 
56% 

 
 
 

23% 
17% 
60% 

 
 
 

65% 
25% 
10% 

 
 
 
 

70% 
30% 

 
 

70% 
70% 

 
 
 

48% 
35% 
17% 

 
 
 

81% 
14% 
5% 

                                                                        

11Ibid.   
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2011 Utah PRIME For Life Participant Characteristics and Outcomes 
 

 How motivated are you to reduce or maintain 
your drug use at low-risk levels? 
-   A lot/Extremely 
-   A little/Somewhat 
-   Not at all 

 
 Posttest: Confidence Outweighs Temptation 

(Confidence and Temptation Scales Range is 12 to 60.) 
-   Confidence in ability to make low-risk 
      choices 
-   Temptation to make high-risk choices 

Pretest 
 
 

69% 
18% 
13% 

 
 
 

NA 
 

NA 

Posttest 
 
 

74% 
16% 
10% 

 
 
 

35.3 
 

23.2 
 
Most participants in PRIME for Life during 2011 reported they agreed or strongly 
agreed PFL helped them in the following areas: 

 Forming detailed plans (87%), 
 Deciding to drink or use drugs less (82%), 
 Feeling confident about making changes (85%), and 
 Developing skills (88%). 

Treatment 
For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder 
treatment.  “Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and 
change patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to 
health; or to restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social 
functioning.  DUI offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance 
use disorder should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the 
educational course.”12   Treatment should address both alcohol and other drug 
problems.  The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive 
outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of 
the substance use disorder.  The table below shows the orders for substance use 
disorder treatment by the Justice and District Courts in FY 2013, for those cases 
where the values were known. 

Substance Use Disorder Treatment 
Ordered by the Courts FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 

Justice Court 2,141 2,409 2,144 
District Court 674 613 630 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

                                                                        

12 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 
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Impaired 
Driving Media 
Campaign 

6 
The Utah Department of Public Safety Highway 
Safety Office’s statewide media, high-visibility 
enforcement, and community outreach campaign 
focuses on changing Utah citizens’ current 
perceptions and behaviors regarding driving under 
the influence of alcohol.  This focus supports the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s 
“Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” campaign goal 
to provide resources to communities to create 
deterrence through public and private partnerships. 

Partnership with Autorama 



 



UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX                                           (Current as of May 14, 2013) 
 

 
Court-Ordered 
Sentencing 

 

MISDEMEANOR DUI 
 

FELONY DUI 
FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 

WITHIN 10 YEARS 
 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 

 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 

 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 

THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
$ if third or subsequent offense 

within 10 years 
$ if serious bodily injury1 
$ if any prior felony DUI 

conviction or automobile 
homicide1 conviction 

 
Jail 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
   48 consecutive hours OR 
   48 hours compensatory 
   service OR 48 hours 
   electronic home confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   240 consecutive hours OR 
   240 hours compensatory        
   service OR 240 hours  
   electronic home confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   0-5 year prison term OR 
   1,500 hours jail (62.5 days)    
   OR 1,500 hours electronic 
   home confinement2 

Fine, Surcharge, 
and Court 
Security Fee 
(§41-6a-505) 
(§51-9-401) 

 
SHALL order: 
   $700 minimum fine plus a  
   $630 surcharge plus a  
   $40 court security fee 

 
SHALL order: 
   $800 minimum fine plus a 
   $720 surcharge plus a 
   $40 court security fee 

 
SHALL order: 
   $1,500 minimum fine plus a   
    $1,350 surcharge plus a   
   $40 court security fee, unless 
   a 0-5 prison term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Educational 
Series, 
Treatment 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Intensive treatment or 

inpatient treatment and 
aftercare for not less than 
240 hours, unless 0-5 prison 
term is imposed 

Probation3 
(§41-6a-507) 

MAY order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 

SHALL order supervised 
probation if 0-5 prison term is 
not imposed 

 

Ignition 
Interlock4 
(§41-6a-518) 
(§41-6a-530) 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 

violation OR describe on the 
record why such order not 
appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on 
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on   
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
High BAC 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or ankle attached 
continuous transdermal 
alcohol monitoring device 
and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or ankle attached 
continuous transdermal 
alcohol monitoring device 
and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 if 0-5 

prison term is not imposed 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or ankle attached 
continuous transdermal 
alcohol monitoring device 
and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 

 

Court MAY order additional   
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or  2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 120 days, 180 days, one 
year or 2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional    
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or 2 years 

                                                           
1A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the 
 same episode of driving.  
2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
3Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body). 
4Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
 condition of probation. 
5Alcohol restricted driver 



 

The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a 
court order.  Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions. 
 

Statutory 
Provisions 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FIRST OFFENSE 
 

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS 

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation 
Driving Under 
the Influence/ 
DUI Conviction 
(§41-6a-509) 
 
 
 
 
 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st   
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if 
the person completes a screening; completes an assessment if 
appropriate; completes an education series or substance abuse 
treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has not been convicted 
of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has 
complied with all terms of probation or all court orders if not ordered to 
probation; and provides a sworn statement to the court that the person 
has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period. 

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
  
 
  

Driving with 
Controlled 
Substance/ 
Metabolite in 
Body Conviction 
(§41-6a-517) 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not 
consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner 
during the suspension period. 
 

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of two years or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday   

Refusal of 
Chemical Test 
(§41-6a-521) 

If 21 or older:  18 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st 

   birthday 

If 21 or older:  36 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 36 months or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

Per se Arrest 
(§53-3-223) 
≥ .08 BAC, impaired to 
degree unsafe to drive, 
operating with metabolite of 
drug in system 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If under 21:  6 months  
If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st 
birthday 
 

 

Not A Drop 
(§53-3-231) 
 

A person under 21 may not 
operate a vehicle or 
motorboat with detectable 
alcohol in body 

If under 21:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, but 
not less than 6 months 
 

If under 21:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, and 
the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 

Failure to Install or Removal 
of Ignition Interlock Device  
(§53-3-1007) 

An individual who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege 
suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.  If the 
interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock restriction period, the driver 
license shall be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is re-installed.  This suspension 
may be imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above. 

Other Sanctions 
 

IRD – Interlock 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-518.2) 
 

An “interlock restricted 
driver” may not operate a 
motor vehicle without an 
ignition interlock system.  

• 18 months IRD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21 
• 3 years IRD for 1st Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), or 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21 
• 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years:  DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (§41-
6a-512 – only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled 
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide  (§76-5-207)  

• 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
Note:  Abeyances count as convictions, as defined in §41-6a-501; if all offenses are for Controlled Substance/Metabolite convictions, IRD does not apply 

 

ARD – Alcohol 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-529)  

An “alcohol restricted driver” 
may not operate or be in 
actual physical control of a 
vehicle with any measurable 
or detectable amount of 
alcohol in the person’s 
body. 

• 2 years ARD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223) 
• 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD 

(§41-6a-530) offense 
• 5 years ARD for 1st Refusal to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years ARD for 2nd offense, if 2nd offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations 

prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-521); 
and 1st offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
Note: Abeyances count as convictions as stated in §53-3-229, excluding ARD and IRD abeyances; if Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply. 
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